Upcoming feature: Week in Review

This Monday I will be adding a weekly feature to the blog: the week in review. This was a suggestion from the lovely Blogging 101 course offered by WordPress, and I think it’s a great idea.

I have been struggling to form cohesive wholes from my research experience so far. Everything seems to be changing daily, so writing about an idea has been like nailing the proverbial jelly to the wall. Focusing on a specific time frame, however, is much easier. I know what happened last week – so I can write about it.

These weekly posts will focus not on the research itself, but everything that goes into supporting it. I want to bring the spotlight onto time management and organisation, stress management, physical health and wellbeing, practicing analytical skills, writing, presenting, and developing confidence.

Not only are these essential parts of doing a PhD, they can be actively and intentionally developed. We don’t have to wait for our confidence to grow slowly over time – we can make it happen on purpose.

Each week I will summarise all the activities that are fuelling my development as a researcher, a PhD student, and a person. How much coffee I drink, how much exercise I do, how much reading I get done, the great advice I found on that one blog, etc. And then I will pick one thing to discuss in greater detail that really had an impact on me, or that I felt I made important progress on that week.

This idea is inspired in part by Nicholas Felton and his Feltron Annual Reports. Listen to Roman Mars of 99% Invisible tell his story.

Photo credit: Shereen M / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

